Author of the true crime memoir, The Kill Jar


The Writers’ Block aired on KRBX 89.9 with host J. Reuben Appelman from 2012 to 2013. 

Listen to the archives for J. Reuben Appelman's in-depth radio interviews with Hollywood actor, Dylan Bruno (CSI, Numb3rs), director Michael Hoffman (One Fine Day, Restoration), cinematographer, David Klein (Homeland, True Blood), Pulitzer Prize-winning author, Anthony Doerr (All the Light We Cannot See), Built to Spill frontman, Doug Martsch, GQ Book of the Year author, Alan Heathcock (Volt), and more! The full archive will be available in 2019!

Anthony Doerr's novel, All the Light We Cannot See, won him the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.  In addition, Doerr has won four O. Henry Prizes, the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize, the Rome Prize, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an NEA Fellowship, the National Magazine Award for Fiction, two Pushcart Prizes, the Pacific Northwest Book Award, the 2010 Story Prize, which is considered the most prestigious prize in the U.S. for a collection of short stories, and the Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award, which is the largest prize in the world for a single short story. J. Reuben Appelman spoke with Anthony Doerr prior to his Pulitzer win. 

Jason Appelman